Code of Conduct

The ETH Zurich Foundation supports education and research at ETH Zurich through commitments from individuals, companies and foundations. The ETH Zurich Foundation assists donors in identifying where to direct their support, provides an active link between donors and the projects they support, and makes the impact of donor commitments known externally.

Donations that fall under the umbrella of the ETH Zurich Foundation result in increased funding for gifted researchers and specific funding programmes for the most talented students at ETH Zurich. They also boost strategic developments and address global challenges. Contributions from donors are crucial to the continued development of ETH Zurich as one of the world’s leading technical universities.

Responsibility towards society, its donors and ETH Zurich are top priorities for the ETH Zurich Foundation, alongside credibility and integrity in its actions and communication. It is for this reason that the Board of Trustees of the ETH Zurich Foundation have established the values and rules in this Code of Conduct, which entered into force on 26 October 2020. These values and rules ensure compliance with social, legal and ethical principles, and secure the sustainable use of the funds entrusted to the ETH Zurich Foundation.

A. Principles 

I. Independent supporter of ETH Zurich

The ETH Zurich Foundation supports education and research at ETH Zurich as an independent, non-profit foundation. It grants funding to ETH Zurich that was committed in the form of charitable donations by individuals, companies and foundations.

II. Freedom of research and teaching

The freedom of teaching, research and publications by individuals and projects supported at ETH Zurich is always guaranteed. Donations received do not confer any right to the ownership, publication or exploitation of research findings.

III. Autonomy and independence

The autonomy and independence of ETH Zurich is ensured at all times. With the exception of the specific purpose set out in a donation agreement, donors have no influence on the work undertaken. In particular, they are not involved in the selection process (such as choosing between potential recipients of excellence scholarships) or in staffing and procurement decisions (e.g. decisions to appoint professors) at ETH Zurich.

IV. Transparency and discretion

The content of donation agreements may be disclosed.

The purpose and content of donations will be published on the website of the ETH Zurich Foundation. Annual reports also provide information on the financial situation of the ETH Zurich Foundation, donations received and the allocation of funds each year. Donors who wish to remain anonymous will not be named publicly. Data and information received will not be disclosed to third parties without the consent of the data subject.

V. Sustainability

All of the ETH Zurich Foundation’s activities (from foundation activities and investments to the conclusion of agreements with third parties) must comply with economic and environmental sustainability principles.

 

B. Donations

In addition to the following principles, please consult the ETH Zurich Code of Conduct for handling donations.

(Code of conduct of ETH Zurich on dealing with contributions)

I. Acceptance

Donations must be compatible with the aims of the ETH Zurich Foundation, and the strategic projects and visions of ETH Zurich must be protected.

The ETH Zurich Foundation is free to decide whether to accept donations, bequests and legacies.

The Steering Committee of the ETH Zurich Foundation decides whether to accept donations of CHF 10,000 or more.

Donation pledges of CHF 10,000 or more are generally laid down in the form of a written agreement with details of the use of the funds.

II. Purpose

If donations are given for a specific purpose, at least the member of the Executive Board of ETH Zurich under whose responsibility the donation falls must be involved promptly in the contract negotiations. Consent to accept the donation is generally given by the President of ETH Zurich and the Executive Board member under whose area of responsibility the donation falls. Funding wishes are always respected as far as possible.

III. Donations for professorships

Donations can play a crucial role in creating the new professorships included in ETH planning. ETH Zurich has sole responsibility for defining their subject, drawing up the specific professor profile and deciding how to advertise the position, as well as for the selection and appointment process. The proposal of a candidate to the ETH Board for appointment is at the sole discretion of the President of ETH Zurich.

(List of funded professorships)

 

 

C. Compliance

The ETH Zurich Foundation places great emphasis on respecting all applicable compliance regulations in any given situation. Please also consult the ETH Zurich Compliance Guide.

(ETH Zurich Compliance Guide)

 

I. Avoiding conflicts of interest

The ETH Zurich Foundation ensures that conflicts of interest are avoided within its organisation and that appropriate measures are in place to prevent conflicts between the personal interests of individuals and the interests of the ETH Zurich Foundation.

II. Origin of funds

The ETH Zurich Foundation must know the origin of donations and that the donor is trustworthy.

Donations must comply with all applicable tax provisions and the Anti-Money Laundering Act.

 

D. Communication and Reporting

The Foundation’s bodies (Board of Trustees, Administrative Office, auditors) act as trustees for the donor’s stated intentions.

The ETH Zurich Foundation ensures that funds are used in accordance with the intended purpose and provides donors with regular updates on the progress and findings of the projects they support.

 

E. Non-Profit-Making Requirements

I. Voluntary activity

The Board of Trustees of the ETH Zurich Foundation works on a voluntary basis and does not accept monetary compensation for its activities from donors or third parties.

II. Avoiding tax implications

Donations are not linked to any consideration with adverse tax consequences for the ETH Zurich Foundation or ETH Zurich. Any taxable consideration must be approved by the Executive Board of ETH Zurich.

 

F. Entry into Force

This Code of Conduct replaces the previous Code of Conduct dated 29 October 2013 and the previous Directive on the acceptance of donations dated 7 October 2016.

This Code of Conduct enters into force on 26 October 2020 upon approval by the Board of Trustees of the ETH Zurich Foundation.

Report to the world on „Code of Conduct“

Code of Conduct

Gemeinsam mit engagierten Privatpersonen, Unternehmen und Stiftungen fördert die ETH Zürich Foundation die Lehre und Forschung an der ETH Zürich. Die ETH Zürich Foundation unterstützt Donatorinnen und Donatoren bei der Suche nach ihrem gewünschten Engagement, amtet als aktive Schnittstelle zwischen den Donatorinnen und Donatoren und den geförderten Projekten und macht die Wirkung ihres Engagements nach aussen sichtbar.

Die unter dem Dach der ETH Zürich Foundation gebündelten Donationen bedeuten mehr Ressourcen für brillante Forschende sowie spezielle Förderprogramme für die talentiertesten Studierenden der ETH Zürich. Sie sind zugleich Anschub für strategische Entwicklungen und adressieren globale Herausforderungen. Mit ihrem Engagement wirken Donatorinnen und Donatoren entscheidend daran mit, die ETH Zürich als eine der weltweit führenden technischen Hochschulen stetig weiterzuentwickeln.

Verantwortungsbewusstsein gegenüber der Gesellschaft, ihren Donatorinnen und Donatoren sowie der ETH Zürich haben für die ETH Zürich Foundation ebenso höchste Priorität wie Glaubwürdigkeit und Integrität im Handeln wie im Kommunizieren. Aus diesem Grund hat der Stiftungsrat der ETH Zürich Foundation folgende Werte und Verhaltensregeln («Code of Conduct») aufgestellt und per 26. Oktober 2020 in Kraft gesetzt. Diese gewährleisten die Einhaltung sozialer, rechtlicher sowie ethischer Grundsätze und stellen den nachhaltigen Umgang mit den der ETH Zürich Foundation anvertrauten Mitteln sicher.

A. Leitlinien

I. Unabhängige Unterstützerin der ETH Zürich

Die ETH Zürich Foundation fördert als unabhängige, gemeinnützige Stiftung die Lehre und Forschung an der ETH Zürich. Sie vergibt Mittel an die ETH Zürich, welche ihr von Privatpersonen, Unternehmen und Stiftungen als gemeinnützige Donationen anvertraut werden.

II. Freiheit von Forschung und Lehre

Die Freiheit von Lehre, Forschung und Publikationen bei geförderten Personen und Projekten der ETH Zürich ist jederzeit gewährleistet. Aufgrund von Donationen besteht kein Anrecht auf Eigentum, Veröffentlichung oder Verwertung von Forschungsresultaten.

III. Autonomie und Unabhängigkeit

Die Autonomie und Unabhängigkeit der ETH Zürich ist jederzeit gewährleistet. Mit Ausnahme der konkreten Zwecksetzung in der jeweiligen Donationsvereinbarung besteht keine Einflussnahme der Donatorinnen und Donatoren, insbesondere sind sie weder am Selektionsprozess (etwa bei der konkreten Auswahl unter mehreren in Betracht kommenden Exzellenzstipendiaten) noch an Personal- und Beschaffungsentscheiden (z.B. beim Entscheid über die Berufung von Professorinnen und Professoren) der ETH Zürich beteiligt.

IV. Transparenz und Diskretion

Der Inhalt von Donationsvereinbarungen kann offengelegt werden.

Zweck und Inhalt der Donationen werden auf der Webseite der ETH Zürich Foundation publiziert. Ferner gibt der Jahresbericht jährlich Auskunft über die finanzielle Situation der ETH Zürich Foundation, die Zuwendungen und Mittelverwendungen (Vergaben). Dem Wunsch von Donatorinnen und Donatoren, öffentlich nicht namentlich erwähnt zu werden, wird nachgekommen. Selbstverständlich werden anvertraute Daten und Informationen ohne Einverständnis der Betroffenen nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.

V. Nachhaltigkeit

Sämtliches Handeln der ETH Zürich Foundation (von der Stiftungstätigkeit über die Vermögensanlage bis hin zum Abschluss von Verträgen mit Drittparteien) ist den Grundsätzen wirtschaftlicher und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit verpflichtet.

 

B. Donationen

Ergänzend zu den nachfolgenden Grundsätzen verweisen wir auf den «Verhaltenskodex der ETH Zürich für den Umgang mit Zuwendungen».

(Verhaltenskodex der ETH Zürich für den Umgang mit Zuwendungen)

I. Annahme

Donationen entsprechen dem Stiftungszweck der ETH Zürich Foundation unter Wahrung der strategischen Projekte und Visionen der ETH Zürich.

Die ETH Zürich Foundation entscheidet frei über die Annahme von Donationen, Erbschaften und Legate.
Bei Donationen ab einer Summe von CHF 10’000 entscheidet der Führungsausschuss der ETH Zürich Foundation über deren Annahme.

Donationszusagen ab einer Summe von CHF 10’000 werden grundsätzlich in Form schriftlicher Vereinbarungen mit Details zur Mittelverwendung festgehalten.

Donationen werden zusammen mit dem übrigen Vermögen der ETH Zürich Foundation nach ihren jeweils gültigen Anlagevorschriften bewirtschaftet und verwaltet. Der Betriebsaufwand der ETH Zürich Foundation wird aus den Kapitalerträgen des gesamten verwalteten Vermögens anteilsmässig finanziert.

II. Zweckbestimmung

Bei Donationen mit bestimmtem Verwendungszweck muss mindestens dasjenige Schulleitungsmitglied der ETH Zürich, in dessen Verantwortungsbereich die Donation fällt, zeitnah in die Vertragsverhandlungen einbezogen werden. Die Zustimmung zur Donation erfolgt in der Regel durch den Präsidenten bzw. die Präsidentin der ETH Zürich und das Schulleitungsmitglied, in dessen Verantwortungsbereich die Donation fällt. Förderwünsche werden wenn immer möglich berücksichtigt.

III. Donationen für Professuren

Donationen können entscheidend dazu beitragen, die in der ETH-Planung vorgesehenen neuen Professuren zu schaffen. Die Zuständigkeit für die thematische Definition, die Ausarbeitung des konkreten Professorenprofils, die Ausschreibungsmodalitäten, der Auswahlprozess und das Berufungsverfahren liegen ausschliesslich bei der ETH Zürich. Die Entscheidung, einen Kandidaten bzw. eine Kandidatin dem ETH-Rat zur Ernennung vorzuschlagen, liegt alleine beim Präsidenten bzw. bei der Präsidentin der ETH Zürich.

(Liste geförderte Professuren)

 

C. Compliance

Die ETH Zürich Foundation legt grossen Wert auf die Einhaltung aller im jeweiligen Einzelfall anwendbaren Compliance-Vorschriften. Ergänzend verweisen wir auf den «Compliance Guide der ETH Zürich».

(Compliance Guide der ETH Zürich)

I. Vermeidung von Interessenkonflikten

Die ETH Zürich Foundation stellt innerhalb ihrer Organisation sicher, dass Interessenkonflikte vermieden bzw. bei entsprechendem Vorliegen geeignete Massnahmen ergriffen werden, die ausschliessen, dass persönliche Interessen Betroffener mit den Interessen der ETH Zürich Foundation kollidieren.

II. Mittelherkunft

Die Herkunft von Donationen ist der ETH Zürich Foundation bekannt und der Donator bzw. die Donatorin ist vertrauenswürdig.

Donationen müssen im Einklang mit allen im konkreten Fall anwendbaren steuerrechtlichen Bestimmungen und dem Geldwäschereigesetz stehen.

 

D. Kommunikation und Reporting

Die Stiftungsorgane (Stiftungsrat, Geschäftsstelle, Revisionsstelle) verstehen sich als Treuhänder des formulierten Donatorenwillens.

Die ETH Zürich Foundation stellt die zweckentsprechende Mittelverwendung sicher und informiert die Donatorinnen und Donatoren regelmässig über die Entwicklungen und die Ergebnisse der von ihnen unterstützten Projekte.

 

E. Gemeinnützigkeitsrechtliche Vorgaben

I. Ehrenamtlichkeit

Der Stiftungsrat der ETH Zürich Foundation arbeitet ehrenamtlich und nimmt weder von Donatorinnen und Donatoren noch von Dritten geldwerte Gegenleistungen für seine Tätigkeit entgegen.

II. Vermeidung steuerschädlicher Folgen

Donationen sind nicht mit einer Gegenleistung verknüpft, welche für die ETH Zürich Foundation oder die ETH Zürich steuerrechtlich negative Folgen hat. Bei der Gewährung von nicht steuerbaren Gegenleistungen müssen diese von der Schulleitung der ETH Zürich genehmigt werden.

 

F. Inkrafttreten

Dieser Code of Conduct ersetzt den bisherigen Code of Conduct vom 29. Oktober 2013 und die bisherige Weisung zur Annahme von Donationen vom 7. Oktober 2016.

Dieser Code of Conduct tritt mit Genehmigung durch den Stiftungsrat der ETH Zürich Foundation am 26. Oktober 2020 in Kraft (ergänzt am 12. Juni 2022).

Berichten Sie der Welt von «Code of Conduct»

Ihr Browser (Internet Explorer) ist leider nicht mehr zeitgemäss, dadurch kann es zu Darstellungsfehlern kommen. Bitte installieren Sie einen anderen Browser.

Wie geht das?Ausblenden